UCD Logo

University College Dublin (UCD) is one of Europe’s leading research-intensive universities where undergraduate education, postgraduate masters and PhD training, research, innovation and community engagement form a dynamic continuum of activity. Founded in 1854 by John Henry Cardinal Newman, UCD was set up as an inclusive Irish university. Today UCD offers a variety of academic areas in 43 subjects to 33,460 students drawn from 131 countries. It is Ireland’s largest university and with 25% of its students being international, it has a global outlook. It is the most popular destination for Irish school-leavers and actively promotes university life as a journey of academic and personal discovery through its highly innovative and flexible UCD Horizons undergraduate curriculum. Over 50% of UCD undergraduates progress to postgraduate studies. UCD consists of the following six academic colleges: the College of Arts and Humanities, the College of Business, the College of Health and Agricultural Sciences, the College of Social Sciences and Law and the College of Science. UCD has participated in the Erasmus mobility programme since it was launched in 1987, and through this and other EU-funded programmes, has built up strong institutional experience and expertise the area of mobility and international engagement. Currently, over 700 UCD students are studying at 400 partner universities abroad each year. UCD’s commitment to the development of sustainable international partnerships is central to global engagement at UCD. These relationships provide opportunities for faculty to partner on collaborative research, for students or staff to participate on mobility programmes and for worldwide alumni to engage with each other through the university’s network of Global Chapters.